Updated: Mar 19, 2018

Schengen Visa Requirements

Schengen visa requirements are very clear and easy to understand. This visa is only for short (up to 90 days).

Schengen visa is a unified visa for short stays for the following 26 countries in Europe:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece , Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Schengen Visa Requirements

Visa EXEMPT passport holders

90 days entry

Albania, Andorra, Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Granada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong , Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia (FYROM), Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Tonga, Trinidad And Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela.

Visa REQUIRED passport holders

90 days multiple entry

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Congo (Republic of), Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Countries that are not recognized by at least one Schengen member state (inquire at your nearest consulate for visa requirements)



Application Process

Check if you need a visitor/tourist visa to travel to Schengen area in the “Visa Requirements” section above. Alternatively, you can check your visa eligibility and requirements at any of your nearest Schengen member state consulates.

A few important things to consider

1. If you intend to visit only one Schengen country, you must apply at the Consulate of that particular country.

· Example: If you are traveling to Spain only. Then apply for a visa at the Consulate of Spain in your city.

2. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country of your main destination (the country where you are spending most days).

· Example: If your itinerary is 10 days of which 4 days in Spain and 6 days in France, then you must apply for a visa at the Consulate of France in your city since you will be spending more time in France.

3. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries but do not have a main destination (same amount of days in each country) then you should apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country which is your first point of entry.

· Example: If your itinerary is 10 days of which you will be spending 5 days in Netherlands first and after that 5 days in France, then you must apply for a visa at the Consulate of Netherlands in your city since Netherlands will be your first port of entry.

4. Schengen visa is for short stays, so typically visas are issued for up to 90 days.

· Example: If your itinerary is for 20 days, you might be given visa for only 20 days.

Documentation The following documentation is required

1. Filled in and signed Schengen visa application (downloadable from the consulate page)

2. Original passport

3. Copy of the visa/residence permit if applying in a third country.

· Example: if you hold an India passport and applying in the US, you have to provide a copy of your US visa

4. One recent passport sized photo

5. Round trip flight reservation

6. Detailed hotel reservation

7. Proof of health insurance

8. Latest credit card statement

9. Latest bank statement

10. Original signed employment letter. If student, a letter from your school or college.

11. Self-addressed envelope if you are not picking up the passport in person

12. Payment of a fee (around 60€).

Schengen Travel Health Insurance Travel health insurance is mandatory for Schengen visa application. You must attach a certificate of travel health insurance in Schengen area or worldwide with 100% coverage with no deductibles or co-pays. It must have a minimum coverage of €30,000 EUR for medical, emergencies and repatriation services.

Visa fee The fee for Schengen visa is approximately €60 EUR. Visa fee is non-refundable and it will not be returned if the visa is not granted or withdrawn.

Immigration and Customs

Period of stay in Schengen area – the 90 days/180 days rule Non-EU Passport holders who are visa EXEMPT or REQUIRED are authorized to stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days. This “90 days in any 180 days” applies to all short stay visitors to Schengen area.

· Stays in EU countries that are NOT part of Schengen area (Bulgaria, Croatia, Ireland, Romania, Cyprus and the United Kingdom) are not counted in assessing the period of stay.

· Stays in non-EU countries that are part of Schengen area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) are counted in assessing the period of stay compliance with the 90 days / 180-day rule.

· Both the day of entry and day of exit are counted in the calculation.

· The 180 days period is referenced backwards from the day of checking.

· A simple rule of thumb is, if you are out of Schengen area for a continuous period of 90 days allows you for a new stay of 90 days.

Entry You do not need to fill any arrival/departure card on entering the Schengen area. Do not panic if your flight attendant did not give you an arrival/departure card on your flight in.

At the immigration, you will generally be asked about your final destination, places you will be visiting and the number of days you are planning on staying. You might also be asked if it is your first time in Europe.

Immigration officer will stamp your passport with arrival airport. Number of days you are allowed to stay will not be marked in your passport.

Exit You must go through passport control on exiting the Schengen area. You will not be asked any questions unless you have over stayed your visa. Passport control is quick, about 10-15 minutes depending on the airport.





This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now